Songs From Academia Vol 1: Songs with Singing, 1981​-​2009

by Tom Dyer

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price


  • Buy CDR w/ four panel color cover $9.99



Green Monkey is rather pleased to present Tom Dyer – Songs from Academia Vol. 1: Songs with Singing, 1981 - 2009. The 14 song (plus top secret bonus track) album is Dyer’s first official release since 1984. Music aficionados may purchase the Deluxe Edition online, which includes Four Panel Printed Eco-sleeve, Printed Insert & Full-Color CDR duplicated using MFQA® (Master Full Quality Audio).

The album cuts a wide swath stylistically, ranging from “mad-bull in a China shop” real-band-rock, to experimental studio pop where Dyer plays anything required, from saxophone to Theremin. Dyer reflects, “I am excited to finish this project exactly at its scheduled time. When I set the goal of October, 2009 those 28 years ago, it seemed like a stretch. I really think this project shows how an artist can develop if they set their mind to it and have a good calendar.”

SECRET BONUS TRACK - I’m Your Man (1991). Recorded by B.L.O.G. (Bunch of Lame Old Guys) Mach 1, a one-off studio band, at the Art Institute of Seattle during a “faculty meeting.” Some of our finest songs were made up on the spot, this one I wrote in advance. If I had to guess, I would say Roy Scimeca, Keith Livingston and Dave Wheeler play on this, but I can’t guarantee it. B.L.O.G. previously had a Secret Bonus Track, "Heavin’ Tiny Sandwiches," on the Art Institute CD, The Young and The Restless.


released October 6, 2009

All songs composed, arranged, etc. by Tom Dyer © ½ the World Publishing

Produced and mastered by Tom Dyer at TDS Productions
Little Sally Walker mixed by Keith Livingston
I See Pictures recorded at Triangle by Pat Hewitt
The Prize, Saturday, Must Have Lost My Mind for a Minute recorded at AiS by Phil Ek

Cover Design by Carlton Lonergan IV

Tom Dyer – Singing, Guitar, Bass, E-Bow, Sax, Keys, Theremin, Drum Machine, Loops, Sequencing, whatever
Peter Barnes – Drums, Tympani, I See Pictures
Laura Bell – Bass, The Prize, Saturday, Must Have Lost My Mind
Al Bloch – Bass, I See Pictures
Kelle Boyd -Backing Vocal, Must Have Lost My Mind, The Stars, In the Big Time
Merle Broyles- Lead Guitar, In the Big Time
Ben Dyer – Bass, Relativity; Guitar, The Question Asked
Jeff Kelly – Piano, Saturday; Bass,Guitar Solo, The Stars
Dave Lefkowitz – Programming assistance, The Sky
Keith Livingston – Guitar Solo, Backing Vocal, She’s Winning the War
Scott McAllister – Guitar, The Prize, Saturday, Must Have Lost My Mind
Sue Orfield –Sax, The Prize, Saturday, Must Have Lost My Mind
Sheila Power - Backing Vocal, Must Have Lost My Mind
Glen Slater – Keyboards, The Prize, Must Have Lost My Mind
Anthony Zapata – Drums, The Prize, Saturday, Must Have Lost My Mind

and THE ICONS on Little Sally Walker
Tim Nelson -Drums
Steve Trettevik – Keyboards, Backing Vocal
Rick Yust – Bass, Backing Vocal



all rights reserved


Green Monkey Records Seattle, Washington

Underground Seattle Rock 1980-2021
Buy no other brand.

contact / help

Contact Green Monkey Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code